Kabale district Council adjourns as angry councillors demand to be sworn in.

Drama ensued today at Kabale District Council hall when six newly elected councillors stormed the session demanding to be sworn in.

The district councillors include; Annet Kabagambe, the female district councilor for Buhara Sub-county, Christine Turyakira alias Nyina Bashatu, of Kitumba sub-county, March Boaz of Ryakarimira town council, Elison Twinamatsiko Maziba sub-county, Florence Musimenta, the district female workers’ representative and Innocent Abariho Katarabashe the district male workers’ representative.

It started when angry councillors entered the council session and occupied seats in the council chambers. The District Speaker, Loy Zikampereza described them as intruders and ordered them to move out of the chambers.

The angry councillors elect however defied the speaker’s directive after realizing that 5the sergeant at arms, was absent. This forced Zikampereza to adjourn the council for over 30 minutes as he called police for help. When the session resumed, two police officers swung into action and dragged the councillors out of the council hall. Councillors said argued that the delay to be sworn-in is an indirect plan of denying them to represent their electorate.

However, Zikampereza attributed the delay to swear-in the councillors to financial constraints. The Kabale district chairperson Patrick Besigye Keihwa said that they are trying hard to make sure that the newly elected councillors are sworn in soon.

6,226 total views, 2 views today

Please follow and like us:

Related posts

Leave a Comment